Car Seat Headrest Invite You To Open The Door To “Making A Door Less Open”

Car Seat Headrest Invite You To Open The Door To “Making A Door Less Open”

Indie rock heartthrobs Car Seat Headrest are releasing a brand new album.

The album called Making A Door Less Open comes out May 1 on Matador Records (Algiers, Fucked Up, Queens Of The Stone Age.) Making A Door Less Open marks the band’s first album of new material since 2016’s Teens Of Denial.

Frontman Will Toledo said that this album will be stylistically different from their past material. He wrote, “This album was made from January 2015 to December 2019, starting as a collection of vague ideas that eventually turned into songs. I wanted to make something that was different from my previous records, and I struggled to figure out how to do that. I realized that because the way I listened to music had changed, I had to change the way I wrote music, as well. I was listening less and less to albums and more and more to individual songs, songs from all over the place, every few days finding a new one that seemed to have a special energy. I thought that if I could make an album full of songs that had a special energy, each one unique and different in its vision, then that would be a good thing.”

Toledo added that the album will “contain elements of EDM, hip hop, futurism, doo-wop, soul, and of course rock and roll.” With all these different elements added in, he stresses that “these may be folk songs, because they can be played and sung in many different ways, and they’re about things that are important to a lot of people: anger with society, sickness, loneliness, love…the way this album plays out is just our own interpretation of the tracks, with [drummer] Andrew [Katz,] [guitarist] Ethan [Ives] and I forming a sort of choir of contrasting natures.”

Can’t Cool Me Down,” the album’s first single, was released today in announcement with the record.

Check out the artwork and track list below.

1. Weightlifters
2. Can’t Cool Me Down
3. Hollywood
4. There Must Be More Than Blood
5. Hymn
6. Deadlines
7. Martin
8. What’s With You Lately
9. Life Worth Missing
10. Famous

Leave a comment