Tim Feerick, DGD Bassist, Dead At 34

Tim Feerick, DGD Bassist, Dead At 34

Longtime bassist for Dance Gavin Dance, Tim Feerick, has unexpectedly passed away. He was 34.

The musician’s death was confirmed by the band earlier Thursday, announcing his passing happened sometime Wednesday night. In a statement about his passing, DGD wrote:

“We are absolutely devastated to share the news that our friend and bass player, Tim Feerick, passed away last night. We ask that you respect our privacy and that of Tim’s family while we deal with this heartbreaking and untimely loss. We will share further updates on Swanfest and our upcoming touring schedule as soon as we have them.”

Feerick joined DGD back in 2009, replacing the band’s second bassist Jason Ellis who joined the year before. He then left the group in 2010 and would rejoin two years later. His debut with the band was 2013’s Acceptance Speech, which also featured the band’s third lead vocalist, Tilian Pearson. During his tenure with DGD, he appeared on six albums, with his final release with the group coming out later this year on Rise Records (blessthefall, Mayday Parade, Spite).

Several musicians wrote messages about Feerick. Former DGD/Emarosa/Rain City Drive frontman Jonny Craig posted in his Instagram story:

“I remember the first time i knew who Tim was i felt like he didn’t like me everytime I went into tower records.. fast forward years later and he joined the band far after I was gone but we were always friends and this past month we have been speaking NON stop and we were gonna link after this upcoming tour to make some kid laroi type music. reading that just broke me into tears. I hate this shit and I don’t understand why I’m here at all cause he deserved to be here. He just recorded hella Fts for me last month. my thoughts go out to the dudes in Dgd and his family.”

DGD’s longtime producer Kris Crummett (In Fear And Faith, Rain City Drive, Stolas) shared a heartfelt tribute on his Instagram, saying:

“You were such an amazing bassist, fellow gear nerd and a great person to be around and bounce ideas off of. The kind of guy who randomly buys Beach Boys concert tickets for both us in the middle of a recording session without even telling me. I’m heartbroken. But it’s hard not to smile just a little bit when thinking about you.

Rest In Peace Tim.”

Fellow post-hardcore band Hail The Sun shared on their Instagram Stories, “Several years ago, when we mentioned to Tim that we were doing an Elephantitis vinyl, he gave us the idea to do an alternate cover version as well. His creativity and genuine interest in art outside of his own will be forever missed.”

“I love you, Tim. I regret not telling you more often. Your life brought me so much humor and joy. You made an impact on those around you, and your musical legacy will live on beyond any of us,” wrote DGD frontman Tilian Pearson while he shared some images of the bassist on Instagram.

Rest easy, Tim. We love you.

Leave a comment